Babar Azam named captain of Pakistan’s T20 and ODI cricket teams

Babar Azam appointed as the captain of both Pakistan’s T20 and ODI cricket teams

The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) announced on Sunday the reappointment of Babar Azam as the captain of the national team for T20Is and ODIs. This decision precedes Pakistan’s upcoming five-match T20I series against New Zealand, scheduled to commence on April 18.

The PCB made the announcement via X, formerly Twitter, stating, “Babar Azam appointed as white-ball captain.” The selection committee unanimously recommended Azam’s appointment, with Chairman PCB Mohsin Naqvi officially appointing him as the captain for ODIs and T20Is.

Last November, Babar Azam ended his lengthy tenure as captain by stepping down from the role. His decision came amid criticism following Pakistan’s lackluster performances in the Asia Cup and the subsequent World Cup, where they failed to advance to the semifinals.

Previously, Babar Azam had been appointed as the white-ball captain in 2019 and as the Test skipper in 2020. However, the Pakistan team did not secure any ICC or Asia Cup titles during his tenure.

Following the disappointing ICC World Cup 2023 campaign, the PCB, under Zaka Ashraf’s leadership, named Shaheen Shah Afridi as the white-ball captain. Shan Masood was entrusted with the red-ball captaincy under the previous management.

Babar Azam boasts an impressive international record, having played 52 Tests, 117 ODIs, and 109 T20Is for Pakistan. He has led the team in 71 T20 matches, including the T20 World Cup. Under his leadership, Pakistan secured victories in 42 matches while suffering defeats in 23 matches.